Foodie Activism – On the Edge of Action

I have been learning more and more about food in America. What I’ve learned has just about got me convinced I need to become a farmer! Even if it’s just to grow food for me and my family. I am learning I want no part in the system as it stands.

It all started when I thought I could successfully lose weight eating ONLY fast food. My lifestyle was such that I ate drive-thru meals at least twice a day anyway. The experiment faded as I steadily gained weight, unwilling to choose the “healthier” options on the menus.

Some time later, I heard about Supersize Me, a movie by Morgan Spurlock, in which he documents the effects of eating only McDonald’s food for 30 days. The scene of him up-chucking after completing a super-sized meal sticks with me to this day.

My original interest in food activism was peaked when I learned of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution from his TED.com award. His TV program opened my eyes to what is going on in America’s school system in regards to nutrition (or lack thereof). I quickly signed his petition.

Thanks to @CoachVanessa on Twitter, I was exposed to DIVE!, a film about perfectly good foods being thrown into dumpsters as waste. Check out the trailer below:

Dive! Trailer from Compeller Productions on Vimeo.

Last week I was fortunate enough to catch FOOD, INC. on PBS. This film is a wake up call if you ever needed one. The food industry in the U.S. is incestuous and unethical. Persons from the top food manufacturers move on to occupy top positions within the federal government. I was horrified to learn the conditions in which chickens are raised. Then there’s the cattle. The pastoral images we see on dairy products’ labels are incredibly deceiving and should be considered false advertising. The conditions where cattle are slaughtered and processed should outrage everyone!

So what do we do?

I’m in the process of finding out. DIVE!’s website has good options for action and signing Jamie Oliver’s petition is a good thing, too.

Leave a Reply

