Off the Edge and into Action

I wrote the previous post on May 5, 2010.

Just 2 weeks ago my fiancé and I started volunteering at a local non-profit edible garden. The food grown there goes to low-income preschools and the local food bank.

We have fallen in love with the work there at the garden and plan on getting our own garden going in the next year or so. We are growing some food at home, too. We are most excited about our green beans!

So it appears we will be farmers after all.

Two other movies I’ve seen since 2010 are “Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead” and “Forks Over Knives,” both of which I highly recommend.

I am starting to notice the effects of processed foods and sugar on my body. Sugar is the most noticeable. Within an hour of eating a large portion (a piece of cake or once, a small frozen yogurt) my nose gets stuffy and within 12 hours my throat starts to feel as if I’m getting sick. I have also had long-lasting headaches from sugar. Ouch!

I have switched to drinking 95% water with some tea and the occasional soda. I am learning to drink much more water after something sugary has gone in me.

I am glad to be learning these lessons rather early on in life. I will be a farmer to feed myself and others whole, natural foods as much as possible and this excites me!

Leave a Reply

